Really hoping to become a paramedic or EMT or etc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HeyYouWantAToothpick

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I hope I am posting this in the right forum and following the rules.

Basically, it's been a life dream of mine to become an EMT and then FF. The information I am looking for is what I should be doing to build towards this goal? All the information online is very confusing and I'm not sure. I have a Bachelor's degree.
BUT....
Here is the thing...I have 2 DUIs and another criminal charge for stealing. None of them are felonies. Basically I'm asking, should I give up the dream of becoming an EMT and firefighter? If not, how should i proceed?

EDIT: I now live in New Jersey. The most recent DUI was three years ago.

Members don't see this ad.

I doubt you would get hired. They raised an eyebrow at me for having a speeding ticket...
I believe you would be too high risk for them to have you insured to drive. Just my opinion, though.

New Jersey is a competitive state for firefighter jobs. Your DUI's are still relatively new, so you will certainly be looked over for a more squared away applicant. You will not be hired anytime soon with your record. However, in 5-7 years you will have a shot. My fire department has hired people with past DUI's; keep in mind they were older applicants, and the DUI was when they were 'young and dumb.'

Getting hired by a career fire department will be difficult but it's not impossible. You have to keep in mind that these are incredibily competitive positions with sometimes 800-1000 applicants for each position. No I am not exaggerating.