How do you avoid growing apart?

ruhroh_raggy

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, all,

This is my first post to the forum, though I've been reading it for a while and have loved the insights from both the students and significant others. I have a question for couples in which both people are pursuing different but equally demanding paths.

I'm a second-year medical student and my boyfriend is a vocal music major. Thankfully we live in the same city, but he works at least as hard as I do and our schedules can be such that it feels like a long-distance relationship sometimes. We do our best to make time for each other, and we're still learning how to balance our lives as each semester seems to be busier than the last. But even though we're growing more with each other as time goes on, the fact is that we're each going through something unique without each other and experiencing 95% of our lives apart. The summers are no reprieve as the last two have been mostly long distance (one of us traveling) and this summer seems to be much of the same as he is planning on doing an opera program in Italy that starts before I take Step I and I will be starting M3 rotations by the time he returns. And then of course there's third year...