How did you get your first internship/PT job?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ged0001

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am seriously considering PT as a profession and know that i need to have some experience working in the field to be considered by many PT schools. I just moved to San Diego and don't know a whole lot of people down here, thus making networking rather difficult. What kind of jobs can one get at a PT office with my experience level?

I have been a personal trainer for the last 3 years, with a considerable amount of knowledge about human anatomy and basic kinesiology. I am majoring in Kinesiology right now, so I am constantly educating myself about the human body and its many dynamic movement patters.

Is it possible for me to be hired as an assistant, as in assisting with rehab exercises etc? What other jobs can you get in a PT office/hospital (besides answering phones, I want to know what the PT life is all about). What is the best way to go about contacting these offices, and what is the best way to find out the best offices to work at...just go in and check them out.

I guess what i would really like to know is how you guys went about getting your experience in the PT field before you applied to schools and really knew that this is what you wanted to do. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

I am seriously considering PT as a profession and know that i need to have some experience working in the field to be considered by many PT schools. I just moved to San Diego and don't know a whole lot of people down here, thus making networking rather difficult. What kind of jobs can one get at a PT office with my experience level?