how bad is general surgery residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bhop

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a second yr medical student and I have been thinking about general surgery more recently. I know it's early but still I was wondering if anyone could tell me more about the lifestyle - specifically: How is it for women? Are there any women friendly programs in New York City? How many nights would I be working? I planned to be married by then - so will I be able to have a child during residency? Thanks in advance for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Bad.

There are plenty of women in the gen surg residency at my school, but most of them (that I talked to anyways, which was about a dozen) were not married, and none of them had children. On the other hand, at least several of the men were married and had children.

The short answer, always, is it depends on the program.

To be sure the demands in a Gen surg residency are high, at not the least of that is due to the attitudes of the attendings on how training should be done.