hospitalist vs fellowship - pls weigh in

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lipstikisntfood

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long-story short: I'm a 2nd yr IM resident in the throes of indecision. I have applied for and received several interview invites for one of the less competitive and less well-paying but, in my opinion, more interesting specialties. However, I have a lot of ambivalence re: going forward on the fellowship track rather than just getting a hospitalist job right out of residency (don't think I can stomach primary care for a variety of reasons).

Fellowship pros:
- really interesting medicine
- ultimately a more sustainable lifestyle than hospitalist (I think)
- money isn't everything

Fellowship cons / hospitalist pros
- my family could really use more $, and fellowship means 2 more years of student loan debt accumulating like nobody's business
- 7 on / 7 off isn't really a bad lifestyle, even if you work like a maniac while you're on
- SO SICK of being a trainee - ready to make bad and good decisions on my own!

At this point, I feel like I should just interview everywhere I'm invited in case I regret the missed fellowship opportunity later. But my list of cons is starting to seem more and more like it outweighs the pros.

Is there something I'm missing? Any insights from the crowd? Weigh in and help a girl out, PLEASE! Serious replies greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Long-story short: I'm a 2nd yr IM resident in the throes of indecision. I have applied for and received several interview invites for one of the less competitive and less well-paying but, in my opinion, more interesting specialties. However, I have a lot of ambivalence re: going forward on the fellowship track rather than just getting a hospitalist job right out of residency (don't think I can stomach primary care for a variety of reasons).

Fellowship pros: