This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

averagedesi

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I'm a grade 12 student currently in a Canadian (ON) High school.
I graduated my Grade 11 year with a 91% average and hope for the same this year.

I am currently taking 2 maths and 3 sciences. Do Universities accept those with AP classes over those with regular U level classes?

I'm really interested in dental school and med school as well. My mother is pushing me towards med school because she believes that dental school is much harder to get into and harder in general in Ontario. I'm not sure if I should pursue med school or dental school. I do have 4 years to decide, but I can't stop stressing out about it.

With dental school, I like the idea of lesser hours, more time for family life... etc. Also, I'm backing away from the idea of med school because I don't want to be on-call in a hospital or have people's lives in my hands. I would hate to be a surgeon, so if I went to med school, I would lean towards being a family doctor or pediatrician. The idea of being a dentist is extremely interesting. I've always wanted to go into medicine (since I'm a sciences and maths person). Would you recommend I go to med school or stick to my original idea of dental school? Is one harder than the other?

Also, does dental/med school prefer certain majors over others? I was thinking of applying to UofTS for biology, as well as McMaster, Waterloo, Western, Guelph and York. Or should I apply to a health sciences or a biomedical program? Is biology easier to get a higher GPA in than biomed?

All replies will reaaaaallllyyy help!

Members don't see this ad.