This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

aspiringdentist123

Reaction score
Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting on a public platform, so please be easy on me lol.:1geek: I am a senior in high school, taking classes at my local community college as a Dual Enrolled student. By the time I graduate high school, I will have around 90 credits (my AA and then some) with the following prereqs for dental school completed:
- gen chem 1/2
- gen bio 1/2 (hybrid)
- ochem 1
- physics 1
- microbiology (hybrid)
- anatomy and physiology 1/2 (hybrid)
- composition 1/2 (all online)
In addition to this, I plan on finishing the rest of my prereqs (ochem 2 and physics 2) at said community college over the summer out of pocket.

My Questions:
1. Should I retake all of my prereqs when I attend university? I know dental schools prefer to see that you've taken most of your prereqs at a 4-year university rather than a community college. In most cases, even when dental schools accept CC credits, they accept a max of 60-65, and I far exceed the limit...

*For some context, I currently have a 4.0 at CC, and I'm worried that retaking it at a university will show a declining trend if I receive a lower GPA in the same courses.* I was planning on only retaking gen bio 1/2 (to prep for the DAT since I didn't learn much in my CC classes) and then taking upper-level science courses, such as genetics, immunology, histology, etc (that hopefully don't require labs lol).

2. I know that most schools don't accept your prereqs if you've taken them online. Would schools accept my hybrid classes (half online/half in-person - I took exams and labs in-person with lectures online, but I'm not sure if schools would think that)? Also, would my composition (English) classes be accepted even though they were taken completely online (NOT affected by COVID)? Do schools reject online prereqs only if they're science courses due to the labs?