High School Courses?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jaycee1234

Reaction score
Hello,
I am currently a student in high school preparing to enter a career in veterinary medicine. I am planning on taking a degree in animal science. I wondered what high school classes would be recommended to help boost my chances of acceptance. I have an overall average of 94% so grades aren't an issue, I just want to make sure that I take all of the recommended courses before graduation to make my transition as easy as possible.

Thanks to everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

In high school, I would just focus on doing the best you possibly can in your typical classes and extracurricular activities. Spend some time shadowing a veterinarian if you can. Apply for as many scholarships for undergrad as you can. Minimizing your undergrad student debt will help set you up for success down the road. Choosing a cheaper state college is fine…most vet schools care more about how you did in your undergrad classes than what institution you attended. Taking AP courses in high school can help reduce the number of gen-ed college classes like English 1 you have to take, but at the same time, (at least for my schools) AP tests didn’t contribute to your GPA and since those classes are often easy As, it can boost your overall GPA to take them in college, so I think there are pros and cons to testing out of classes. I did take a couple concurrent enrollment courses like American History and Speech that satisfied HS graduation requirements while also giving graded college credit. But at the high school stage, it doesn’t truly matter what courses you take. Just do your best while still having fun and being a kid.

Reactions: 6 users
Hello,