WAMC? High GPA very low experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

catechol

Reaction score
Hello all, I was hoping for your honesty. I have been working on my vet school app and really realized how little experience I have. I concentrated on my GPA and settling in during my first quarter at UC Davis and then the COVID-19 pandemic hit in my second quarter, so I didn’t get many opportunities there. At community college I strongly regret not doing extracurriculars, but I had extreme social anxiety/undiagnosed autism. I was homeschooled K-12 (explains the social anxiety lol) so I’m not really even sure what I could put as high school extracurriculars.. Currently I am the practice manager of a small animal vet clinic, but I started working there straight out of undergrad so I don’t have much else. I graduated in 2021 but wasn't super set on vet school until earlier this year, so I wasn't serious about getting experience unfortunately.

I think my GPA is very competitive at least. My first pick is Davis so I am hoping you all think my GPA might be enough?? Also thinking of applying to Colorado, Illinois, Oregon and Washington.

All college GPA: 3.93
BS/Last 45 GPA: 3.96
Science GPA: 3.97

Veterinary/Animal Experience:
~3300 hrs as vet assistant turned practice manager at a small animal private practice
-Plus we have an orthopedic surgeon come in to do specialty surgeries so I have experience prepping for TPLO/pat lux/FHO etc​
~600 hrs paid pet-sitting, including exotics like rodents, birds and reptiles (should I include this??)

Volunteer Experience:
~200 hrs at a Humane Society during CC as a cat companion + in a kitten nursery
– 30 hrs COVID-19 Testing Booth at UC Davis

Research Experience:
- None :( thanks covid

Awards/scholarships:
- Dean’s list every quarter at UC Davis
- Dean’s permanent honor roll at JC
- UCD CBS Department citation for high GPA
- Graduated UCD magna cum laude

Employment: