Help with letters of recommendation.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kznova225

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Based on my OAT scores, college GPA, & shadowing/hands on experience, I believe I'm a competitive candidate. The only problem is with my letters of recommendation. I already have one from the optometrist that I have been working with for the last couple of months (I shadowed her a couple of times before then). My issue is with a letter from a former professor. I just never made any connection with a professor of mine. I went to a large university and most of the close experience I had was with TAs and I was never someone who went to office hours (now I wish I had). Any suggestions who be much appreciated. FYI, I graduated from college in the spring of 2018 & I'm somewhat of an older applicant (I'm 26).

Members don't see this ad.

some schools accept a letter from a pre-health advisor instead of a professor

Based on my OAT scores, college GPA, & shadowing/hands on experience, I believe I'm a competitive candidate. The only problem is with my letters of recommendation. I already have one from the optometrist that I have been working with for the last couple of months (I shadowed her a couple of times before then). My issue is with a letter from a former professor. I just never made any connection with a professor of mine. I went to a large university and most of the close experience I had was with TAs and I was never someone who went to office hours (now I wish I had). Any suggestions who be much appreciated. FYI, I graduated from college in the spring of 2018 & I'm somewhat of an older applicant (I'm 26).

Why don't you email your TAs and ask? Most schools just require a co-sign from a professor from what I know

Members don't see this ad :)