Help! Clinical Psychology vs. MPH/PhD Public Health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Applicant03

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am having a very difficult time deciding between a PhD in Clinical Psychology and the PhD in Public Health route.

I am in my mid-20's and received a BS in Sociology from a small, liberal arts school and then a MS in Counseling and Psychology (2010) from a very distinguished state school in the South. I have some research experience (research coordinator, master's paper, pubs, presentations, etc.). I am currenlty a RA for HIV/AIDS research at a university. I'm involved in both domestic and international studies. In the last few months, I have become increasingly interested in the Public Health field, particularly HIV/AIDS research and health disparities.

I am postiive I do not want to pursue a career in psychotherapy, however, I do like mental health assessments/evaluations aspect. On the other hand, I could honestly see myself working in research, maybe for the CDC in Atlanta or another research job for the federal government. I feel like a public health degree is extremely marketable and the doors are wide open for you career wise.

I'm looking for any advice regarding pursuing a PhD in Public Health (particularly Health Behavior or Mental Health focus). What is the funding like? Career options? Admissions criteria? etc. ANY insight would be most appreciated!!

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

although you may receive some answers here, you'll probably have better luck at the grad cafe (http://forum.thegradcafe.com/). their forum is more focused on PHD applicants/students, while this forum is mostly focused on master's applicants/students.

-waystinthyme

Members don't see this ad :)
I am having a very difficult time deciding between a PhD in Clinical Psychology and the PhD in Public Health route.