Hands-on OMFS externship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

OpenReduction

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello! I am a third year dental student looking for hands on externship opportunities. I know that many programs have shifted to hands off since covid started, but I know there are some still out there. Any input would be much appreciated. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Nyu, parkland were two where I got to extract some teeth during covid times…

NYU.

Go during summer when there aren’t any students around and you’ll run your own clinic chair and get to do a ton of stuff.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I loved my Baylor externship experience and I’ve heard a lot of other people say the same

Parkland, Shreveport, & UNMC had a hands on experiences

Montefiore allows hands-on if you're at a dental school in the area, you have to reach out to their program coordinator though for more specifics (i.e. which schools and what procedures hands-on would involve)

Thanks for the input guys! I also heard that cook county is hands on. Can anyone confirm?

An attending at my home program always told me going to an externship purely bc its hands on is sort of silly. Sure, if you're interested in this program, go for it. But you get a good grasp on how to do most things your intern year anyways, so justifying an externship because you'll get to pull 25 teeth and close a neck just doesn't make sense. After going on my externships, I definitely agree with this. Go to the program you want to learn most about. Some were more hands on than others, but most importantly I learned of some programs that I really really wanted to now apply to and could see myself at, and others that I might not even apply to now.

Reactions: 2 users