Gre

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MJHUSKERS

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm curious if any of you guys took a class for the gre test, like a gre prep course? Or did you pick up some books to help you study for it? A college near by is offering one of those gre prep classes for 12 weeks, but it's $550.00 dollars.

What books did you use to study from and do youwant to sell them?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not so sure a course would be beneficial, but it may be to some..depends on what type of learner you are. I just bought a book offline, Cracking the GRE by Princeton Review. It got good reviews and was only $23. Has a bunch of practice exams and questions...can't really beat it.

I bought a couple word smart gre books, sample tests, and GRE/GMAT math books to help and they REALLY helped. While tooking the test, i found about 8 analogy questions that had words that I studied which led directly to me getting them correct. Definitely go for some books and spend a couple weeks studying and take the test. If you dont feel that it is enough, try the courses...but dont waste your time or money on courses if you haven't taken the test first. Who knows, maybe you'll get a 1300 without even trying!

Members don't see this ad :)
I have not taken the courses, but I don't think it would help. Just buy the guide books and study them. I found that reviewing old algebra/geometry/trig books helped a lot.

For the verbal section, just learn the vocab words and read more. I read the newspaper every day and I try to read a few books a week, so that helped as well.