This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Laughingcow

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

Do medical schools see it as something negative if I graduate in my undergrad institution in 5 years as opposed to 4 due to taking lighter classes per semester intentionally?

Edit: This is my first time using SDN. So glad to join this community!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Hi everyone,

Do medical schools see it as something negative if I graduate in my undergrad institution in 5 years as opposed to 4 due to taking lighter classes per semester intentionally?

Edit: This is my first time using SDN. So glad to join this community!

Yes, not graduating within 4 years is considered a red-flag by some, unless there's something obvious (like a double major) to explain it. Otherwise, you may have to explain yourself, and "I wanted to have an easier course load during college" is gonna turn people off across the board.

For the record, I took light course loads for about half of my undergrad career (talking 13 credit hrs/semester) and still graduated in 4 years easily.

EDIT: Oops, I guess I was misinformed :oops:. I will say that secondary applications will often ask you to explain things like breaks or anomalies in your path to med school (e.g. gap years before college, gap years after college). After taking a look at 35 secondaries this cycle and completing 29, I'm kind of ashamed to say that, upon thinking back more intentionally, I honestly can't remember if any asked for explanations for graduating in greater than 4 years, but I always got the sense (incorrectly), that it might be scrutinized.

But my point still stands that even with light course loads, it's worth looking into if you can graduate in 4 years and save that tuition money imo.

Last edited:
  • Dislike
  • Okay...
Reactions: 4 users