graduate school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jtr

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I entered undergraduate college as a premed student but studied little and received poor grades my first few years. As each year passed my grades began to improve (i repeated organic 2 and brought my grade from a c- to an A) My last two semesters I earned a 3.9 and 4.0, bringing my GPA up to a 3.1. Now I knew that I had little chance at getting in to medical school so I applied to Optometry school and scored a 320 on the OAT's. I was accepted to optometry school but after observing and some thought I decided I was not willing to give up on my goal to going to medical school that easily. So I quickly applied to some masters programs and I was accepted to the masters program at Albany Medical College. I'm in my first semester and getting good grades (around B+). I'm a PCA on a trauma/general surgery floor, volunteer on a ped's floor (tutoring) and volunteer for the American Cancer Society. My questions are should I be looking into riding the ambulance? Doing some other activities? I haven't taken the MCAT's yet but plan to in the spring-I know that a lot depends on those scores but is this a good path to increase my chances to get into medical school? Albany does not have a link between its masters program and medical school, its a good 2 year program with research that I will allow me to get my name on some papers. Is this in your opinion a good path or should I be applying to the BU/EVMC type masters programs that link masters and medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

Let me be honest with you, your GPA is a little weak and many allopathic schools don't consider graduate school GPA as the accumulative GPA. So your master gpa may not help you to get into that particiular school.