GPA question...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rosebud1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a general pre-health student at the moment, not 100% sure which field I want to go into yet, but from what I've researched so far, PT is one of my top choices. The non-pretentious, laidback atmosphere and high level of relationship building really appeal to me.

But I have a question about how GPA is calculated.

I know that for med school and dental school they look at your overall GPA and your science (BCPM) GPA. It seems that PT schools break it down into overall GPA and prereq GPA. But I've noticed that most PT schools list things like psychology and English as prereqs. So are classes like psych and English actually included in the prereq GPA? Or is more like the BCPM model used for other professional programs?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but the term "prereq GPA" used in place of "science GPA" threw me off...

Members don't see this ad.

Each school has different prerequisites. Look at the school that you are interested and see what courses they require. "Prereq GPA" is specific for each school, so do your research and come back with the schools you are interested in. poop.

^^ s/he's not asking what prerequisites are required; she's asking whether the humanitites prereqs (i.e. English comp, psych, etc) are included in the prereq GPA calculations.

I would assume so, although it does sound a bit ambiguous since prereq GPA is often referred to as "science GPA". I don't know. :confused: But my best guess would be that if a school requires a course as a prereq, they include it when calculating prereq GPA.

Members don't see this ad :)
yes they are included. I logged into my PTCAS application and got all the GPA calculations they do (I deleted my GPA calculations, but here's the list):