PhD/PsyD GPA Question for Admissions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bcliff

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated UG cum laude with advanced honors (I took a few graduate courses and a handful of upper level honors courses) & research honors (I completed an honors thesis). My institution GPA when I graduated was 3.58, but my cumulative GPA was 3.42 (I had transferred to the school, where I graduated from with a 3.22, which brought down my cumulative GPA). I know that 3.5 is often the 'magic number' that schools use to cut a large portion of applicants; I wanted to ask if anyone had an idea of which side of this cut I would fall on with my GPA.

I was 19 when I graduated and had taken 25 credit hours over each semester preceding my graduation (I was taking graduate & honors courses and made the dean's list both times). I started college at 16, which is one of the reasons my transfer GPA of 3.22 wasn't very stellar.

Members don't see this ad.

I would have to lean towards you falling on the positive end of this "magical" threshold we've all heard so much about. However, it all depends on the institution and how you addressed your GPA in your SOP. For some schools where a GA or even admissions secretary is looking at the first cut, your 3.42 cum may have you removed from consideration. Unfortunately that is the culture we're in. However, if you have strong GRE's, research experience, and that all important match of interests with your POI, I see no reason that you should not be considered.