Chance of Admission

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

athequeen16

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I thought my anxiety would melt away after putting in my applications, but now I'm stressed about admissions. I put in applications to GWU and Loyola. For GWU I put in for their PsyD program and their art therapy MA program, and for Loyola, I put in for their PsyD program. Currently, I have a 3.923 (all A's with the exception of one B+), one year of clinical lab experience, 3 years experience as an on-campus job (sadly not psych-based but can be applicable to gaining skills psychologically such as customer service and confidentiality in planning), and I think I wrote some great essays. I got a letter of recommendation from my boss from the job I had for 3 years, my professor I work in a lab under and an art professor who can highlight how art transfers skills to psychology. I feel like some reason I'm behind the other students who are applying and am worrying about my chances of admission.

Does anyone have an idea of what my chance is, or any words of advice

Thank ya!

Members don't see this ad.

I put in applications to GWU and Loyola. For GWU I put in for their PsyD program and their art therapy MA program, and for Loyola, I put in for their PsyD program.
The modal doctoral applicant is probably applying to 8-14 programs, including those in a variety of geographic areas with most making significant relocations and are likely not still enrolled in their undergrad studies at time of application. Many also need to apply multiple cycles.

So if you're still in undergrad without a substantial research CV, only applying to 2 programs and geography seems to be a primary need, your chances will go down since fit is very important and your competition may also have had more time to build their CV.