GPA Problems, please help a struggling student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

trueinthegame

Time is Illmatic...
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Yo, I'm a sophomore at my University, majoring in biology.

Well, this semester hasn't been a good one for me. I had to withdraw from my cell bio class because I just wasn't doing well in it, even though I put in plenty of time to study. I'm taking it again next semester and I'm gonna try a differnet method that a friend recommended.

And I also wasn't doing too well in Organic Chemistry. I got a C in my chem 102 class, which I wasn't pleased with. This semester, I was on track to get a C in my Organic chem class, but I decided to just stop going so I could get an F and take it again next semester and get the grade replaced.

How closely do dental schools look at a withdrawal from a class. And, as for the Organic chem situation (which I am much more worried about), do dental schools average the new grade along with the grade that is being replaced, or do they just look at the new grade.

If they average both grades, then I fear that I may have made the wrong decision in just failing the class on purpose so I could retake it and get a better grade. But I really did not want to C's in Chemistry classes.

Please help, I'm really worried.

Members don't see this ad.

trueinthegame said:

Well, this semester hasn't been a good one for me. I had to withdraw from my cell bio class because I just wasn't doing well in it, even though I put in plenty of time to study. I'm taking it again next semester and I'm gonna try a differnet method that a friend recommended.