Going for med school with a chemistry degree.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JSmurfington

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a junior, going for a BS in chemistry. I have recently started to become disillusioned with chemistry, and I am not sure if I really want to be a research chemist anymore. I'm not going to lie, becoming a doctor hasn't been some lifelong passion for me. What has been my passion is science and learning. And right now, becoming a doctor seems to be a valid path to pursue that goal.

My concern is that I will not be prepared in the specifics required for medical school. I have no biology background. I am taking one biochem class right now, but that is it. Is it impossible to get into med school (or excel in med school once you get there) without having taken anatomy, physio, etc? I could fit them in senior year, but not before the MCATS

Academically I believe I am a good candidate. I have a 3.94 GPA. I have done undergraduate chemistry research for the past couple years, and I have done an REU. I even have my name as a co-author in a publication in a chemistry journal.

It's not that I don't believe I can handle the material, it's that I'm already a junior and I have been immersing myself in chemistry, not medicine and biology. I have heard people say that chemistry is a great degree for getting into medical school because it is harder than biology (and I have a great GPA), which is the degree everyone else has. But will I be at a distinct disadvantage when it comes to actually becoming a doctor because I don't have the background in biology?

Lets say I got into med school. Am I going to flunk out my first semester because I don't have an extensive bio background?

I just want to keep all my options, including med school, on the table. Because at this point I don't know if I want to be in a lab doing research for the rest of my life.

Members don't see this ad.