Go to India for med...or stay...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CaliAtenza

master member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey sup everyone...great forums here.

Im a freshman right now (doing undergrad) here at UCI (University of California-Irvine). Im a bio major..but taking a break from science classes this quarter. My 1st two quarters i did horrible; i didn't pass any of my science classes, even though i worked hard. So i became discouraged and decided to take a break this quarter and try poly sci and stuff like that...i like it, but i dunno if i see myself in it. My problem is that i sux at taking tests that are multiple choice and i have a distaste for chemistry in general; but i love bio, especially genetics, anatomy, etc. I feel like i haven't accomplished anything my entire freshman year in college and that it was all a waste, both of my time and my parents' money. My dad (he's a doc) suggested that i go to india for med school, like a bunch of people have done. I'm US born, of indian descent...so going over there wouldn't be much of a problem. But im still wary of going over there, even though i hear good things from the people that i talk to that are over there. The other option is to stay here..repeat all my classes this summer (if UCI lets me) and struggle here and possibly go to a DO school or the Carribean. Im seriously at like the crossroads of my life and im not sure what to do...Please help ASAP!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi fellow Indian American :D
I am Indian born US resident planning on attending med. school here in the US. The only problem in going to India is if you( don't mind but you are US born) will definitely have difficulty adjusting to the culture there.
Besides, you will have a difficult time trying to get back to the US and work/ get residency.