Getting More Tattoos?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FrkyBgStok

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok. I don't want to hear any "don't do it" as that isn't what this thread is about. I also don't need any personal opinions about tattoos. Frankly, I don't care what they are.

I have been accepted to med school and am way pumped. I also currently have a full sleeve tattoo on my right arm. I talked to a student at one of my interviews with a visible tattoo and said that no one really cares, but it was a single image. I have a full sleeve, completely filled in from wrist to shoulder.

I plan on wearing long sleeves during rotations if needed and runners arms during surgical ones where I can remove them at the last possible moment. I worked in a hospital and had my sleeve visible all of the time and never had any issues. I was also a transporter, not a doctor. I am also aware and willing to wear long sleeves the rest of my life if I need to, which having a lab coat or wearing a long sleeve button down makes this an easily solved problem.

My question is, based on me having a sleeve already on my right arm, are there any good reasons not to get one on my left arm. I love tattoos and plan on getting fairly covered but none on my face/hands/neck etc. They can be covered up in most situations. Again, I don't want to hear "tattoos are never a good idea." I don't care how people feel about them. I am wondering if I would be wrong in thinking having one sleeve will look no different than two sleeves as i will be wearing long sleeves anyway. In short, will having two sleeves look the same as having one?

I am posting it here and not in residency ones because I am not yet a med student or resident and it isn't directly related. Plus, enough come into pre-osteo.