Getting Into Medical School--Poor Academic History

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tawnymarie1985

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

First, thanks for reading this over.

I am 27 years old. Long story short...I had my son at 20. I attended 6 schools (most distance education). My final degree ended up being a general studies degree. However, throughout my 5 years though I had quite a few withdraws from courses and some poor grades. I moved around a lot. I worked as a nursing assistant and ward clerk. I'm currently an admin for a psych group.

Annnnyway, Medical School has always been in my mind. It's what I wanted to do and still want to do. I'm in an EMT program hoping to get a per diem/part-time position in an ER soon since I have experience as a nursing asst in an ER. Ultimately I'd love to work in Emergency Medicine or maybe Hospital(ist) Medicine.

I know with my current academic history I don't stand a chance getting in. I'm just not sure what my next action should be if I want to pursue a pre-med curriculum. Should it be an add'l bachelor's degree? (starting all over again) or a post bacc pre-med certificate? I'm just wondering if admission committees consider the whole picture? Are they going to realize I turned things around? I keep wondering if I do a post bacc program that includes ALL the science prerequisites etc if maybe they'll just consider that for the most part. I'm okay starting over...I'm just hoping it will be worth it and that my previous history hasn't "doomed me". Has anyone else been in this situation? Had a poor academic history and turned it around?

Thanks Guys!

--Tawny

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Everyone,