Geographic Signaling

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BuildingMyOwnLuck

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
If I'm an international student (currently on an F1 in a US med school) and I don't really have any strong ties to any specific regions, how should I go about with the geographic signaling? I have always moved throughout my life (countries/schools/cities) so I'm not picky on location as long as the program is decent, but I've heard that people get the majority of their invites from the areas they signaled since it shows willingness to stay there. So should I:
1. Go with no preference and explain in my app somewhere
2. Signal to 3 regions with the highest total amount of psychiatry programs that I have a decent shot at
3. Or something else

Any input is appreciated. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I matched last year, as an US-IMG (so kind of the opposite situation, I suppose).

I did end up getting most of my interviews from regions that I've signaled in. But it's hard to say exactly how much it contributed, since these programs were either IMG-friendly programs from the East Coast or from California where I had personal ties to.

Also, use your program signaling well! It's difficult to get interviews in general as an IMG, but I got 5/5 interviews from my signals.

However, I ended up in a program that I did not signal to, nor was it even in the region that I geosignaled. But, that's a different story!

Reactions: 1 users
Just be your confident self. If you like an area say so. If geography doesn't matter, but something else about a program appeals to you, say so. There is no need to pretend to be something you are not.
The poster is asking about a new and specific ERAS feature in which the applicant literally chooses out of a list of regions, or signals no preference, or can leave blank.