General question about AMCAS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fingerscrossedd

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Newbie here, so please move this thread if I haven't posted it in the right area----

Just wondering: if you submit your AMCAS before your MCAT score comes in, do medical schools not look at it until they receive your test scores? So, say if I submitted my application but my scores don't come in for three weeks--am I better off just waiting to submit it in two weeks, and spending the time in between looking over my app? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Newbie here, so please move this thread if I haven't posted it in the right area----

Just wondering: if you submit your AMCAS before your MCAT score comes in, do medical schools not look at it until they receive your test scores? So, say if I submitted my application but my scores don't come in for three weeks--am I better off just waiting to submit it in two weeks, and spending the time in between looking over my app? Thanks!

You should never sacrifice quality in order to submit your application earlier. However, if your application is as polished as you can get it, go ahead and SUBMIT NOW even without the MCAT score. While you are correct that the app will not be reviewed by schools just yet, you do need to take into account the number of weeks it will take for AMCAS to verify your application before it's even submitted to schools. Verification means that AMCAS compares your coursework on the application with your transcripts to make sure your grades and classifications were entered correctly.

For future reference, you can post stuff like this in the official AMCAS questions thread: http://forums.studentdoctor.net/showthread.php?t=823760