General Dismissed from Optometry school, going to appeal

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Budlv

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please help if anyone has a similar situation!

I am currently a 4th-year optometry student and I started optometry school in August 2018. I just failed my summer quarter rotation and I also failed one course from my first year ( which I already remediated). I just received an email from the dean stating I am dismissed from school for academic reasons. I am going to write a letter of appeal and a hearing will be held next Tuesday.

Honestly, my GPA wasn't good from the first 2 years with an average 0f 2.5, but my GPA went up to 3.0 and 3.2 for the last two semesters before I was out for rotation. Now my average GPA dropped to 2.34 due to the failure of my summer rotation.

*******You can skip it this just explaining my challenge**********I've been worried about my dad's health since the first day of school because of his lung cancer which was diagnosed in 2014. His condition was getting worse and with the increased dosage for chemo, he lost his hair and lost a significant amount of weight. In 2019, he had permanent left homonymous hemianopsia due to subacute ischemic stroke. Since then, he has experienced worsening neurological status due to metastatic spinal cord compression from lung cancer.)
My dad has always been hiding his illness because he didn't want me to worry about him. And my mom always told me the truth because she didn't want me to become an optometrist. She wanted me to start working as soon as possible because my family has a serious financial hardship. My dad couldn't work due to sickness and she wasn't able to work full time because she needs to take care of my dad. *******************************************