Gender Transition as an Attending

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

throwaway303

Reaction score
Hi everyone,
This is a throwaway account for anonymity reasons. Anyway, I am a newish attending physician who is going through a gender identity exploration and heavily leaning towards transitioning from male to female. I am fortunate enough to have a good therapist and starting to get to know the community better (COVID is making it hard atm).
However, my question if anyone knows anyone who went through the transition process after becoming an attending? I know there are a lot of challenges for anyone going through this process but is there anything to consider for someone in my shoes? Would licensing and credentialing be similar to getting an ID changed? I also work a decent amount of locums. How would I go about disclosing that to the locums company and other hospitals? Should I even tell them anything?
Thank you everyone in advance :)

Members don't see this ad.

• Care
  • Love
Reactions: 3 users
I can't really help you as I am not in a position to give any sort of advice (i.e., "I don't know"), but I just wanted to tell you that I wish you good luck!

Reactions: 4 users
This is awesome! I'm so happy that you're able to start the process of coming out and that you love yourself to the extent that you can make your transition.