Future of Radiation Oncology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tesla19

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre med student interested in radiation oncology, and I was wondering what everyone thought about the future direction of the field? This includes everything from new techniques, different non radiation ways to treat cancer that are being researched (viruses, etc) that could conceivably take away some radoncs business, lifestyle, compensation (I believe under Obamas plan this would be cut significantly) and competitiveness. Any answer about any of these questions would be much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I am a pre med student interested in radiation oncology, and I was wondering what everyone thought about the future direction of the field? This includes everything from new techniques, different non radiation ways to treat cancer that are being researched (viruses, etc) that could conceivably take away some radoncs business, lifestyle, compensation (I believe under Obamas plan this would be cut significantly) and competitiveness. Any answer about any of these questions would be much appreciated.

Targeted therapy, chemo, radiation, and surgery all work together to treat cancer. Some are for local control while others are systemic treatment. Plus, local control (radiation) of cancer becomes increasingly important as targeted therapies improve.

why are you are interested in radiation oncology (besides the above)?

Members don't see this ad :)