Freshman Year

dmonalor

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
My grades for the freshman year were as follows: A, B, B+, A, A-, A, B. I am in an honors math course and an honors science course, but have gotten a b in one. Next year I am taking 2 AP courses and 2 honors courses, but did not get into another honors course. If I get mostly As next year, will my situation look a little better? (will I get in to a very competitive school??)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Are you a freshman in high school?

If so, if you can get all As for the rest of your high school career, you should be more than prepared for a top/Ivy college as long as you have a lot of long-term ECs and volunteer work and hold down a steady job. If you can maintain all As and Bs for the rest of high school, you could be competitive for a top state school.

As with med school, what they really want to see is a marked upward trend.

yes I am a freshman in high school and I do a lot of extra-curriculars (about 10 hours a week)

Members don't see this ad :)
Are you a freshman in high school?

If so, if you can get all As for the rest of your high school career, you should be more than prepared for a top/Ivy college as long as you have a lot of long-term ECs and volunteer work and hold down a steady job. If you can maintain all As and Bs for the rest of high school, you could be competitive for a top state school.

As with med school, what they really want to see is a marked upward trend.
I agree

My first piece of advice: relax and enjoy high school. Don't be so bent on getting in to the absolute "best" school you can. You'll more than likely come to realize that attending a top college does not correlate to acceptance to a top med school. If your grades suffer to have a little fun and enjoy being in high school, then so be it. I personally think it's a worthwhile sacrifice to make, but to each his own.