FMG w/4 failed attempts Score of 207 Step 1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ForeignMD12345

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm a foreign medical graduate from Colombia and graduated in 2008. I came to the US on a student visa and worked on my English proficiency in school. I'm a permanent resident as I married two years ago, so my status is fine. I've graduated with an AS degree (not impressive, I know) but have failed the Step 1 4 times. I just passed with a score of 207 and I'm doing hands-on externships in cardiology(1 month) IM/Pathology (2 months) and ER (2 months) for a total of 5 months of US clinical experience. I'm scheduled to take the Step 2 CK and CS in July.

What are my chances of getting into a residency? Is Puerto Rico even an option at this point? My native language is Spanish, which helps, but I am very proficient in English. Any recommendations?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
Sorry friend but you have to realize the chances of matching for foreign medical graduates is around 50% and I believe they take the best of the applicants. If I were you, I would look into other options like PA school or nurse practitioner. I'm sure your a great person but the 4 failures are a automatic no for most places. I think places only consider 1-2 failures at most as they prefer someone who passed everything on the first try. Best of luck.

Okay guys no need to be so cruel. Your chances are not great with so many fails but if you rock step 2 and do well in these rotations someone may take a chance on you. Good luck!