First time shadowing questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDoctorX-men

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm sorry if I'm posting again but I just received a super duper exciting news!!:happy:
After a year of searching and getting rejected, I finally found a physician whom I can shadow and I will be shadowing him this weekend. :soexcited:
He practices Emergency medicine and works in the ER.
Now my question is, what are some of the things that I should expect from this experience? This is my very first time shadowing and I really want to set a good first impression on him since Emergency medicine is a very intriguing field to me and it sparks my curiosity.

So here's my game plan so far:
  • Get there early with my srubs on
  • Bring a pen and a small pocket-size notebook
  • Follow him around and ask him some questions if, and only if, its the right time and its not too busy.
  • Send a thank you email at the end of the shadowing experience (I will be shadowing for two days straight so I plan on just sending him my thank you email after the Sunday shift).
I still feel like I'm missing somethings and I really don't know what kind of questions I should ask him...:thinking:
Can someone with prior experience and knowledge, please give me some of your wisdom (or a possible link to any article that I can read up on).

Thank you all in advance and Have a nice day!!

Members don't see this ad.

Please don't carry around a notebook... You'll look like a tool. Also, unless explicitly told to do so, do not show up in scrubs. Show up in business casual.

Reactions: 2 users
Agree with the business casual, unless he told you to come in scrubs then wear them.
When I shadowed, I never actually carried a notebook with me, but I did take notes after of the highlights and what I thought was interesting. It's nice to read later and is a nice review of the shadowing experience.