Fiance not supportive

DrShoegal

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been contemplating going to medical school for a few years now after graduating college. My fiance and I have been together since high school (I'm 26 and he's in his early thirties), no kids. He does not support me with my career choice whatsoever...doesn't want to move because he has a good job, doesn't want the lifestyle,etc. etc. I have tried looking into other careers like nursing but I feel like I will live with regret down the road if I don't choose to go into medicine. He is ready to get married and have kids in a few years and I feel like our age difference is becoming a problem in our relationship because I want to establish a good career first before marriage and since he's not supporting me with this I feel like I'm making a bad choice going through with marriage. He even said he would be fine with me working part time job for few years. He wants to stay close to family and if I go through with med school he thinks I am being selfish for moving away from my family for 4+ years and thinks I will be sacrificing too much. My mom has health issues and he also thinks I should just stay close and "suck it up" and find a job instead of moving away. I am lost, hurt, and confused. I've always been so close to my family and would be the first to move away. The school I want to go is in-state (2 hour drive). He tells me he loves me and just wants to be with me but doen't want to move, we talked about long distance rel. but doesn't want to do that. I feel like I have to choose between love and a career and I don't think that is right. What do I do? Is medicine worth sacrificing family, quality of life,love?

Members don't see this ad.