Feedback or Advice on dissatisfaction with research (UG)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

EquipedeFrance

C'est une grosse déception.
5+ Year Member
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I want to preface this statement by saying that I'm an undergraduate student at a T10 who was heavily involved in research in high school. I did not have any parental involvement in getting the position back then, and I would often skip school to go to the lab and spent lots and lots of time there, working until late.

I loved my research in high school. The lab I worked in had several PDFs and the PI was heavily involved. I was given a lot of autonomy with choosing which/when/how to do experiments, and some of my early results, which were using some new techniques, were turned into projects I worked on individually. I shared my data with the PI and we would discuss and come up with new experiments, thoughts, and ideas. The main research technique we were using is uncommon and produced a LOT of raw data that we could analyze in many ways, which I loved. That is not to say it was easy - I had months of failed experiments due to technical errors, days of work disappearing when fixed sections degraded as a result of mishandling, etc. etc. but I remained motivated and invested. I was there for 3 years.