Feedback and Path Before Reapplying

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ToothyBoi

Reaction score
Oy,
I know the cycle isn't over, but I'm starting to find the holes in my application. My GPA is a 3.975 overall with a 4.0 in the sciences (except for physics 2, which I'm taking in the Spring). I also performed a dental internship in Argentina last Spring and I have a bachelor's in Spanish. I have more than enough shadowing hours, along with extra-curriculars. I was part of my friend's honors thesis in which we performed analysis on bacteria using PCR. These are the good things, in my estimation. I had two interviews prior to December out of 11 total applications. To date, I have not received a hard rejection but have been wait-listed at one school that interviewed me and then another school that I have yet to interview at.

I really have only been pursuing dentistry for less than a year hardcore. I thought my story about how my trip to Argentina showed that after looking for so long, I found my path. So this is a strike against. Also, my DAT was a 19 overall. This is good, but not great.

Can anyone assess my actual chances?

Also, if I were to reapply, should I pursue a Master's in Biology (which I'm in a favorable position to do), or gain more strictly-dental experience by becoming a dental assistant?

Thank you,

Members don't see this ad.

I would retake your DAT more than anything because having that high of a GPA does not correlate to an average score of 19. This shows schools that perhaps there was grade inflation going on at your undergrad, as you got As in all of your science classes, but you could not perform at that same level on a standardized test. If you have to reapply, retake your DAT and aim for 21-22+. I think retaking might help more than a Master's.

Reactions: 1 user