Failing Medical Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Scutpuppy007

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Has anyone had an experience of working with a medical student who is doing so poorly on their clinical rotation that they are in danger of failing? I am dealing with this situation now. As an intern, I don't have much say as to how someone is going to be evaluated, but both my resident and attending are threatening to fail this girl if she doesn't straighten her act up.

She argues and gets defensive when she is wrong. She interrupts the attending to give the patients misinformation (and did so once when we were discussing Code Status). She pulls the disappearing act and can't be found for hours at a time. She comes in late and is totally unprepared. She doesn't know her patients. She doesn't have their labs or studies available in the morning when it is time for rounds and she can't handle more one or two patients. I have tried talking to her when she asks for feedback, but she doesn't listen when she is given suggestions as to how to improve her performance. I told her that she needed to be more organized and to have all of her information ready when it comes time to round in the morning. She told me that she was good at that. She isn't. She hasn't looked at an xray, EKG strip, or labs. Once, it took her two hours to see a patient in the ER and she "forgot" to write a History and Physical.

By the way, she is a 4th year and is supposed to be a subintern this month.