Failed Step 1 TWO times

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FurFur2011

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello there,

I have a dilemma. I am an SGU student and left the island in December after finishing m basic sciences. I have a 2.5 GPA. I did not do so well in medical school because of MANY personal issues (divorce, moms death, medical problem). So I was already weak in my basic sciences.

I studied by myself for 4 months with Kaplan videos, DIT and FA. I took Step 1 in May 2011 and failed by 2 points. I then took the 7 week Live Kaplan course and took Step 1 late August, and once again failed. I will now be dismissed from SGU.

What can I do? Can I transfer to another Caribbean medical school? I am thinking about PA school as well. Also can I take Step 1 without being enrolled in a medical school?

Members don't see this ad.

Hello there,

I have a dilemma. I am an SGU student and left the island in December after finishing m basic sciences. I have a 2.5 GPA. I did not do so well in medical school because of MANY personal issues (divorce, moms death, medical problem). So I was already weak in my basic sciences.

I studied by myself for 4 months with Kaplan videos, DIT and FA. I took Step 1 in May 2011 and failed by 2 points. I then took the 7 week Live Kaplan course and took Step 1 late August, and once again failed. I will now be dismissed from SGU.

What can I do? Can I transfer to another Caribbean medical school?

Transferring -- Not any of the reputable ones. Honestly, I wouldn't go this route. You've (at least theoretically) already spent a lot of money, you're almost certainly not eligible to get into one of the "good" Carribean schools, and even if you got into a school and passed Step 1 (which isn't all that likely), you're unlikely to get a residency spot with two fails on your history.

Furfur2011 said: