Failed COMLEX 1 twice. What are my chances at matching FM?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rasper

Reaction score
Hello,
I’m a student at an American DO school and failed COMLEX 1 twice and passed on the third try. I’m currently in third year rotations and passing my COMATs. I know I will have to show significant improvement on COMLEX 2, but I have severe test anxiety and am trying to learn how to deal with it. I passed first and second year of school successfully and have a couple extracurricular activities on my CV. I will be participating in Match 2021 and I really want to do family medicine. I’m very nervous about matching into a residency spot and if not, I’m still worried about my chances at getting a spot via scramble. Has anyone been in a similar situation or know of anyone who failed board exams and still ended up getting a residency spot? Any insight or advice would be much appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
First, please seek professional help for your severe test anxiety. If nothing else, will have documentation and show you are taking a proactive approach to remedy this situation.

I've known Caribbean students fail their steps multiple times and match. Will definitely be an uphill battle, you WILL have to work your gluteal off like you've never done so before. Do extremely well on all your future boards, consider taking the Steps if not too late. Absolutely SHINE on all your rotations and your audition-rotations, you have to do everything short of rob the bank for them.

Reactions: 2 users
Hello,