Failed ABEM oral boards

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MSIVWife

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just found out I did not pass my oral boards. FWIW I’m a US med school grad, trained at a top residency, and in shock because I’ve passed all my boards in the pass. My score was fairly low and I have no breakdown of the score. I don’t understand how I could’ve scored so low. I prepped for the boards using Okuda and running cases with other colleagues who passed.

Could anyone tell me their experience when you didn’t pass the oral boards? Or if you know of a colleague who didn’t pass, what did they do? I didn’t get much info from ABEM when I called regarding my next steps. TIA

Members don't see this ad.

I just found out I did not pass my oral boards. FWIW I’m a US med school grad, trained at a top residency, and in shock because I’ve passed all my boards in the pass. My score was fairly low and I have no breakdown of the score. I don’t understand how I could’ve scored so low. I prepped for the boards using Okuda and running cases with other colleagues who passed.

Could anyone tell me their experience when you didn’t pass the oral boards? Or if you know of a colleague who didn’t pass, what did they do? I didn’t get much info from ABEM when I called regarding my next steps. TIA

I am so, so sorry. I have nothing to offer from personal experience, except that the folks who didn't wear suits seemed to have a rough time, but I did find the AAEM class extremely helpful. Sometimes it happens. You'll do OK next time, I bet, if you take a class.

Best of luck. It does not reflect on you as a physician.

Reactions: 3 users

There are so many factors that go into this.
Any of the below could be a problem:

You didn’t verbalize your thought process well so that the examiners could follow.
You missed critical actions (sometimes a TDap could be “critical”)