Ex-Ibanker now resident AMA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Tigerhawk77

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I worked in finance, made the switch to MD, now PGY-2. Happy to talk about career change, finance, existential crisises, etc.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 2 users
Doctors have this reputation of being not very smart with their money. Do you have any advice about making investments, assets, retirement,..? (presumably for someone with no debt)

How did your experience in i-banking shape your mindset, approach to medical school, choice of specialty, and ranking of residency programs?

What was the hardest thing about transitioning from finance into medicine? Have you been happy with the switch? If you could do it all again, what would you do different? Go straight into medicine? Stay with I-Banking? Something else?

How did your experience in i-banking shape your mindset, approach to medical school, choice of specialty, and ranking of residency programs?

It gave me a good work ethic and attention to detail. Believe it or not, I was expected to have much greater detail attention in banking than medicine. So much scrutinizing punctuation and color palates. I suppose that was due to my not being a senior banker making larger decisions. Or maybe medicine detail comes more naturally to me. Those guys see a company as a living, breathing entity the way that doctors see human physiology.