euthanasia at home

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

alex8542

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
dear veterinary colleagues, i have an unfortunate situation to discuss. i have a 7 year old cat who has been valiantly fighting CRF since he was a kitten. he now is quite ill and weighs less than 4 pounds. he has almost entirely stopped taking anything PO over the weekend. my wife is out of the country on business and returns home midnight on monday. if she was home, we would most likely take him to the vet to be euthanized. she will be absolutely devastated if the cat is euthanized in her absence.

i am a surgeon (humans) and have unrestricted access to thiopental and propofol. i'm not sure i could stick this poor dehydrated cat for an IV but have read about intraperitoneal pentobarb as an accepted technique. would also consider ketamine IM for pre-procedure sedation but do not have access to it.

another option, since this will be at home, would be a slower process with something PO. benadryl? i don't think i have any leftover narcotics at home but something that would depress resp function in a gentle manner seems to be a kind way to go.

waiting until tuesday and going to the vet is still an option, but in my opinion would place undue stress on the kitty. he gets quite anxious in the car and at the clinic.

please reply with compassionate advice. thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

waiting until tuesday and going to the vet is still an option, but in my opinion would place undue stress on the kitty. he gets quite anxious in the car and at the clinic.

please reply with compassionate advice. thank you.