EU citizen looking for UK training - what are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

desertedcat

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have been spending the last 2 days to figure out how to oversee the UK medical education (after med school), and I am not sure if the problem is with me, or is it really that difficult to oversee?

OK, here is my complicated issue.

I graduated from an EU country med school (yes, it is on the UK list and they take graduates from there), practiced emergency medicine for about 3.5 years between 1996 and 2000. I completed 3 x 3 months rotations during my residency (pediatrics, surgery, and intensive therapy & anesthesiology). Unfortunately, it was back in 1996 (yes, I am that old). I got married in the meantime, and moved to the US (yes, I am a dual citizen, but it is irrelevant for now).

When I arrived to the US (2000), I had issues with the English. Someone recommended to obtain a master degree in public health (epidemiology), to increase my chances to get into residency, so I completed my studies. Then continued into the PhD program (both are US accredited universities). Public health, epidemiology. I am a PhD candidate now. In the meantime I was a teaching assistant in epidemiology for about 15 courses for graduate students, residents, fellows, physicians, health care administrators, etc., and now an adjunct faculty in a community college teaching anatomy and physiology, starting my 6th year (50% time only for 5 years - 5 classes during 3 semesters per academic year, and now 70%, which is 4 classes for the first semester of the 5th year). I am independently lecturing for some time, and as you by now hopefully agree with me, my English got somewhat better.