Epidemiology or PhD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Siroco

Reaction score
Hello all! I'm a new grad veterinarian working in GP. I'm not digging it, I'm more interested in wildlife disease. So I'm thinking about getting some further training. I'm trying to decide between doing a masters in veterinary epidemiology or a PhD. Just wondering if anyone here has any insight on what would be a better choice. I want something where its not too hard to find a job when I'm done.

Members don't see this ad.

You don't actually need a Master's or PhD to work in vet epi... So before going on to more education, maybe consider researching how to find or transition into a non-traditional career? You may be able to snag one without the extra education. It really depends what you want to do and where you want to work.

My school offers career transition workshops for veterinarians looking to leave clinical practice and do something else. (Through the Center for Public and Corporate Veterinary Medicine.) I can pm you more specific if you want.

Also to consider, government or industry employers will sometimes pay for you to do an MPH, MS, or PhD if you work in those fields for them (my coworker had her MPH paid for (I think), and my boss had a PhD in epi fully funded by the government).

Reactions: 1 user