Engineering curious?

xnfs93hy

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Ok so as some of you know, I change my major every five minutes.

Honestly, I've kind of been looking around.

I am looking at maybe doing a math/science double major. Or 5 year ChemE masters. Or something of the like.

Thing is, at least with math, I've had such a crappy background.

I mean, I can handle math, it's just, I'm not good at it. And if you are going to be a Physics or Engineering major, you REALLY have to be pretty gifted in math.

Idk if I am. I think I am lacking the basics which is why I am trying to review it this summer while I prepare for SAT's again in the fall. I may also take a college algebra class.

I mean, I want to take Calc and everything but I just can't.

English, low level math focused economics, maybe Bio, I can handle. Because that is all algebra based.

The hard sciences and math classes would eat me alive if I took them right now.

What I am getting at here is, Engineering leads to a high salary (if MS doesn't work out, but it will, because I will try my best to get in.) and all Engineers do well.

It's like, I want to do Engineering, I feel that I could be good at it, but you NEED to do well in math, and I am just lacking in math so much right now.

I mean, English I'm good at, History, and science with no math. If math didn't exist, I'd get straight A's. Throw math in there and put me in a class and I go from being Mr. Smart Guy to the kid who cheats off of everyone. I don't know whether I'm just dumb or the foundation required is shaky or just not there at all :(

Members don't see this ad.

I have tutored a lot of students in math before, from basic algebra and geometry that you learn in the 7th or 8th grade all the way up to calculus.