Energy and Whatnot! So so frustrating!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BoneMental

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have yet to see this actually be an MCAT question, so I'm asking it here rather than in the MCAT Question Forum.

Rather, it's more of a science questions that stumps me to this day.

When energy is "released" (ie, by bonds forming) and provides energy for other reactions, what form is this energy in?

For example, ATP hydrolysis results in "energy" that can be used to "fuel" other processes. How so? Is it heat? Work? I always find this topic danced around even in upper level biology courses, and its very frustrating to me.

Can someone please explain this concept to me? I don't understand how released energy fuels other reactions--what form is the energy in?

AHHHHH! I really want to know! :eek::eek::eek:

Members don't see this ad.

I'm no expert. This is my best guess. I think that it would be either mechanical or heat. For something like ATP in a Adenyl Cyclase making cAMP I would guess mechanical. The tri phosphate is unfavorable configuration and if you were able to connect to the last two phosphates it would create a mechanical energy as they break apart; however, there are enzymes that are activated by heat. If physics has taught us anything it is that transferring energy is very inefficient. So even though it is using mechanical energy there is no doubt in my mind that a lot of it is lost to heat. So there you have it, my feeble attempt at an explanation.

Reactions are coupled.

Remember, energy isn't static. It can be made to change form and do work.

When you break a Phosphate bond, you release energy. If you're not doing anything, it's wasted as heat. If you couple the rxn to something that needs energy to proceed, then you do work.

Conformational changes in an enzyme that are caused by binding/being phos/dephosphorylated is a form of 'work'.