Emt in NYC

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jli

One Day...
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am very interested into becoming an EMT. Does anyone know where I could get trained to become an EMT in New york for a limited amount of money or free if possible? I found plenty of places that provided training but the cost of them are extremely expensive, for me that is. Is there a way that I could be trained for free or at least under $700? Also, if I do get trained and become EMT certified, would the people that train me provide me with a job? and How long does EMT classes usually take? I am also a student, so my schedule isn't that great, it would be great if any places offer training at night or weekends.
If there isnt any classes under $700, that would be fine. Does anyone know what places to get trained at would be the best.
I could go to any borough except long island, queens and Bronx. Prefer Brooklyn though.
Also, i want to work for the FDNY, if anyone knows how.
Another question, How much doe EMT get paid and how long does it take to become a paramedic?
Any information would be great.
Thanks, Jli

Members don't see this ad.

It usually takes 6 months to train, then become certified (if you pass the exam).

I don't live in NY, but I would look around for a community college (they tend to be cheapest- mine costs about 1g). It use to be (and it still may be) that some people could just be trained on duty, but now most hospitals are looking for a certificate.

Now, to become a paramedic, you have to take an advancement course after you take the basics, I believe.