EMS or not? I need advice!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I am a second year pre-med undergrad at a university. This past summer I got my EMT certification so that I could get some experience before applying to medical school. I ended up liking EMS way more than I thought I would.

I am not very good at science and have been struggling with B's and C's in the medical school pre-req courses. It is very discouraging to me. I do want to go to medical school eventually, but would it hurt my chances if I just became a paramedic and then did my science courses and took the MCAT later in life? (I heard that paramedics get burned out after about 5 years so if I WAS burned out it would be very motivating to return back to school... right?)

Members don't see this ad.

Becomming a paramedic will not hurt your chances of getting into med school but if your goal is med school then it would probably be a delay and a very long and indirect route to your goal.

If you want to do med school then I suggest redoubling your efforts at bringing up your grades and studying for the MCAT.

If you really like EMS and want to do EMS as a career then go for it. It's a great field.

My feelings about using EMS as a stepping stone to med school are well known on this board (I don't think it's the way to go). That said here's something to loose a little sleep over: If you do decide to go the EMS route and you think you might try to go to med school some years down the road you may want to limit the number of medical prereq classes you take now if you're getting Bs and Cs. You'll have to retake those classes down the road and any poor grades you record now will still be there. Some people find that later in life they are better students and get better grades. You might do better to get your degree (I definitely recommend completing a degree) without those classes and the MCAT and leave those for later.