EMS Field Guides Helpful?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bgm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a new EMT basic; did any of you carry field guides with you when first starting out? I’ve considered purchasing either the Informed Basic and Intermediate version or the ALS version. For those of you who have field guides do you find them useful for reviewing on your way to a call or reviewing at home?

Members don't see this ad.

If your talking about the Informed versions the BLS ones are "ok" the ALS ones will be of little use to you as a BLS provider. Even as an ALS provider there are plenty of mistakes in those flip books and the dosages are "interesting" to say the least. If you actually followed some of the dosages in those flip books you'd have some explaining to do. I don't remember what version it was, or the exact dosage but the EPI IV dosage for anaphylaxis would have killed the patient.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yes, I’m talking about the Informed versions. I ended up buying the Basic & Intermediate BLS version. The ALS version was a bit overwhelming and didn’t seem like it would be useful for me at my level.

Lawsonc, thanks for the heads up! I’ll definitely take what I read with a grain of salt and cross reference information with my textbook.

If your talking about the Informed versions the BLS ones are "ok" the ALS ones will be of little use to you as a BLS provider. Even as an ALS provider there are plenty of mistakes in those flip books and the dosages are "interesting" to say the least. If you actually followed some of the dosages in those flip books you'd have some explaining to do. I don't remember what version it was, or the exact dosage but the EPI IV dosage for anaphylaxis would have killed the patient.