El Paso vs Baylor vs WSU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Enne

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I am a Texas resident who has recently moved from Washington. I am currently accepted into El Paso and am waiting to hear back from Baylor and WSU (waitlist) I was wondering if I could have some advice on deciding between these schools if I am accepted on the waitlist.

El Paso
Pros
  • least expensive (20k/yr)
  • better match list/step scores vs WSU
  • can already makes plans for due to being already accepted (finding housing, building connections, etc.)
  • unique population I would enjoy working with

Cons
  • away from family/friends/partner
  • near the border? (heard mixed things about safety)
  • less ideal environment (warm weather, flatter, less things to do)

Baylor
Pros
  • More highly regarded name
  • Better match list/step scores than either El Paso or WSU
  • likely better research opportunities?
  • less expensive than WSU (30k/yr)

Cons
  • unclear about value of going to Temple (as that's likely where I'd go as someone coming off the waitlist)
  • less ideal environment (warm weather, flatter, less things to do, etc)
  • away from family/friends/partner
WSU
Pros
  • closer to family/friends/partner
  • ideal environment (cooler weather, more mountainous, enjoy camping fishing, etc)

Cons
  • more expensive (40k/yr)
  • more limited match list and lower step scores than either Baylor or El Paso
Summary: Currently, my opinion of where I should go if given the option is Baylor > El Paso > WSU, but I'd be open to hearing any thoughts or opinions. Thanks in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: