DPM/MD or DPM/DO dual degree??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

KylieP54

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know anything about the DPM/MD or DPM/DO dual degree? Is it really as good as it sounds? can you do more since you are an MD or DO? any insight is greatly appreciated, thanks!
KylieP

Members don't see this ad.

I'm only an undergrad, but I did some searching on the web for your query. What I dug up was a brief mention of one at this address:

http://www.smartfoot.com/newsflash/newsflash050199LETTERS 6.html

The school of podiatry in question, California College of Podiatric Medicine, now CCPM at Samuel Merritt College, does not mention it at its website. The school supposedly offering the MD degree is in Costa Rica.

I hope this helps.

The school's website is now at:

http://www.samuelmerritt.edu/default.cfm

The answer to your question, there is a program that the
newyork School of podiatry. They run this program with a foreign
medical school called IUHS. But, please do your research, you may not be able to get liceansed in certain in many states, but if
you just want the MD and work as a DPM it's OK I guess. Now, you seem like a bright student. PLease read my post, don't get into podiatry it is a dying field. Apply to med school in the US if you can't get in then try the two established carribean med schools. :D

Members don't see this ad :)