Gen chem 1 and 2 during BSN degree?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jack-of-all-trades

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everybody. I'm a recent ADN graduate currently working on my BSN full time. I'm really struggling with the decision whether to start taking medical school pre reqs (Gen chem) this fall with my BSN classes.

The reason I can't decide is because I haven't fully made the decision whether to pursue np school or medical school yet. If I were to decide to pursue np school gen chem will not be necessary. However, if I don't take gen chem this year and decide to pursue medical school I will be a year behind taking pre reqs.

Taking gen chem 1 and 2 will put me at 18 credits this fall and 21 in the spring. I believe I can handle this but it will not leave me a lot of time for employment as a RN, shadowing, etc.

I do not necessarily want to add on gen chem at this point but I would hate to add an extra year to take med school pre reqs if that is the pathway I end up deciding.

For those of you who have went through a RN to BSN degree would you recommend taking gen chem along with it? Or would you recommend just waiting and beginning all the pre reqs after my BSN?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I did my ADN, took a break and did my med school prereqs, then went back and did a BSN online. It's crucial you get good grades in all the prereqs and get a good foundation for when you take Ochem 1/2 and eventually the MCAT.

I think i would wait until after you complete your BSN to do the prerequisites.

Reactions: 1 user
I did my ADN, took a break and did my med school prereqs, then went back and did a BSN online. It's crucial you get good grades in all the prereqs and get a good foundation for when you take Ochem 1/2 and eventually the MCAT.

I think i would wait until after you complete your BSN to do the prerequisites.